ART, GRAPHIC DESIGN, LITERATURE, MUSIC, SPIRITUALITY

Go Go Go Go, Accomplish By Doing: Galas, Live Music, NAS, and Cigs

Wow I love solid, jam packed accomplish-everything days.

I spent 10+hrs today assisting the lovely and multitalented Bex preparing for tomorrow’s Music BC Charitable Foundation Gala and Auction at Westin Bayshore in Vancouver BC.

Music BC is a fantastic non-profit organization that works to support and encourage musicians and the music scene in BC. I strongly encourage anyone who loves music to get involved with Music BC. (I’ll probably volunteer tomorrow night at the actual event).

I got involved once I was asked to donate a print of mine: a stunning photo of Régine Chassagne from Arcade Fire‘s show in Vancouver last year.
DSC_0273_ArcadeFire_sepia
I’m honoured to have my piece amongst other auction items and prizes such as a signed Joe Satriani guitar!!

I’ve also been busy with photography: I shot the beautiful, sexy, alluring Lykke Li and her band at the Vogue Theatre last night, and tonight I shot the odd, energetic, harmonic band Yeasayer at the Commodore Ballroom. Openers Smith Westerns were disappointing (read: boring) but opener Hush Hush was a brilliant bundle of skinny seductive energy!
Photos from both nights should be up on Guttersnipe (the site I was on assignment for) later tomorrow (May 29).

I’m also super stoked to say that after months of researching local redundant backup solutions, I’ve found a fit I’m happy with! I invested in a QNAP TS-219P+ NAS, and chucked 2 Seagate Barracuda 2TB drives in it, configured it, and have transferred my whole iTunes library to it! I can now play my library from anywhere in the house. Stoked. Next is to move all my photos (tons! of gigs, especially since I’ve been shooting RAW over the past year) and other important files to the NAS.
I’ve heard that since the QNAP is attached to the network, I can access my files, including my music and photos, from ANYWHERE. I’ll be looking into these possibilities.
I can definitely say that I’m impressed with my QNAP so far.

Alright, time for bed, good rest, to wake up recharged and tackle another day with full on positive energy, a zest for life!

I’ll leave you with this silly little thing I drew on Bex’s cigarette pack earlier today…
IMG_0740_dontNotPoisonUs_cigarettePack

Peace, Ash

Standard

Leave a Reply

