ART, FILM, LITERATURE, MUSIC, SPIRITUALITY

Ode To Video Recording (You interviewed Nina Simone, Daniel Johnston, and Charles Bukowski, for this I thank you)

tonight I give my thanks to the invention of video recording,
specifically for the use of interviews.
for the use of people talking about themselves,
explaining themselves,
sharing themselves with their unknown viewers.

I feel especially thankful
because in the past couple days
I have watched 3 brilliant artists
explain themselves
share themselves
with me
even though we’ve never met.
And because they have shared themselves
their ideas
their lives, as difficult as they may have been,
I feel a belonging. I belong here right now
in my body,
living my life,
because I am doing what they have done.
They lived life,
pursued their passions
and lived to share it,
I am living my life,
pursuing my passions
I am learning to share them.

The 3 brilliant artists I am referring to are:
Nina Simone
Daniel Johnston
and
Charles Bukowski.

Although I have read some Bukowski,
have heard of Johnston,
and have listened to and adored Simone for many years,
I have not known much about any of them,
nor have I heard them speak,
I had not seen their faces
with their mouths
speak with their voices
saying whatever it is that their minds
felt the need to form into words and sentences.

The following 3 films brought on this gratitude and my sense of belonging.
I thank:
Bukowski: Born Into This (2003)

The Devil And Daniel Johnston (2005)

Nina Simone Live At Ronnie Scott’s (1985)
(after watching the following clip, watch the full video is here.)

Standard

Leave a Reply

