ART, FILM, MUSIC

Response to Altered States, A Night of Video Art at Little Mountain Gallery

Cycling across town
in the cold dark night
with my girlfriend
crisp cutting air reviving
alive-ing
to arrive for a night of video work
by a variety of artists,
one who I know
which is how I know
about the evening.
At a little gallery (mountain)
in an old neighbourhood of mine
… lost years, years I lost my connection to my gut…

tonight the heat isn’t on
though it may never be
what’s important, though, is watching these videos
between the viaduct
throat singing
eerie singing
again, done differently, again, done differently
silent gradients
spokes, floating, circles,
but more than anything – film strip motorcycles laying in silence
it was all so powerful (It’s OK What’s Going to Happen Right Now)
I belonged in those 6 minutes
to something that had achieved greatness
I imagined Scorcese sitting there, in wonder,
immediately signing the creator to his next big project –
such vision, such enthralling, if abstract narrative.
I was told that this is the first time it has been shown in Canada
(created in Malaysia)
so it may not be found on YouTube or Vimeo or those places
but if it is, I’ll let you know.

I love seeing what people are making
even if I don’t like it
(but tonight I did, much of it!)
it still inspires me
the creativity
the dedication
taking an idea and seeing it through
working through self doubt
working when life prevents it
then taking the work
and working at getting it shown.
Bravo.

Please visit alteredstatesvideos.blogspot.com for more information on the artists and the videos that inspired me tonight.

Standard

Leave a Reply

