ART, GRAPHIC DESIGN, SPIRITUALITY

Does Online Exposure Necessitate Loss of All Personal Privacy and Control?

What is this thing called About.me?

I signed up for it because 2010 has been all about signing into the interwebs.
I joined Flickr for photos, WordPress for blogging, Twitter for tweeting, LinkedIn for networking, Dropbox for file sharing, Blip.fm, Songkick, and SoundCloud for music, YouTube and Vimeo for video… the list goes on and on.

Overall, it’s been a blast.

Sometimes it’s a bit much to keep on top of every single one, and yes, I’m trying to get used to Yoono, but it hasn’t quite convinced me yet.
I don’t know what it is – perhaps it truly is just too much at once, so even though Yoono is trying to be helpful by keeping updates from Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc all in one place, it might just be too much, so I usually gloss over everything and really only use it to post an update and have it appear in a bunch of places at once. Though I must admit, I usually don’t even do that, since I like to target specific people or organizations on the individual sites, using @…

That brings me back to About.me.

Since this, from what I make of it, is a brief online bio, of course I want it to link to my other online stuff, such as Twitter and Flickr.
But when I click and say I want to add Flickr to my account, it takes me to Flickr to authorize the linkage. Fine.
But then I read the small print, and it says that by authorizing About.me, I allow them to “Upload, Edit, and Replace photos and videos in (my) account.”
See for yourself – I took a screencap of the page:

Flickr authorization for About.me

That’s insane! Yes please, go right ahead and add random shit to my Flickr account, that’s splendid.

And Twitter gives a similar warning.
It makes me not trust this About.me dealio.

Maybe I’m just being paranoid.
Maybe when I linked my accounts to Yoono, I missed the small print and have actually given them the right to add and change content of my accounts.

I don’t know, I’m really digging on how having these accounts has opened up my exposure as an artist – hell, I can directly credit Twitter for kickstarting my live music photography (I responded to a call out for available photogs in Vancouver, and the rest in history)! And I know that we are essentially giving away certain levels of privacy anytime we post anything online. We are opening ourselves to the worldwide public domain. So maybe I should just chill out.

What do you think?
How do you respond to these sort of account warnings?
How much have you given of yourself to the interwebs in the name of greater exposure?
I’d love to hear your thoughts…

Standard

Leave a Reply

