ART, MUSIC, SPIRITUALITY

Syncope Gets The Better Of My Oxygen And Balance Safety Box

I had an episode of syncope (pronounced sin-kah-pee) today.

Hmph! is what this makes me think
Frail is what this makes me feel
Temporary is what this makes me realize I am.

Say I’m over dramatic if you will,
but having a serious blackout body-shaking dizziness tripped me out.
syncope1of13

We were all bent over, hinged at the hips,
our chests into our knees, our heads down at our shins,
our arms dangling, our hands draped on the floor.
syncope2of13

then up! we were told, I’ve done this a million times before,
Up! and keep that hinge at the hips,
syncope3of13

Up! and raise our torsos to vertical
and Up! swing our arms above us.
syncope4of13

But whereas a bit of black might normally dance before my eyes
as the adrenaline kicks in
my heads a’rush,
syncope5of13

this time his voice disappeared
syncope6of13

the wall disappeared
syncope7of13

my hands disappeared
syncope8of13

and I could feel myself wavering
shaking
syncope9of13

I had no control
no strength, my arms had to come down, to centre,
syncope10of13

as I somehow continued standing, but shaking on the spot,
my hands conveniently in prayer I was outside I was tripping I was separate
syncope11of13

then it came back
syncope12of13

vision, a little grey,
sound, a little hazy,
my body, fully buzzy,
still on my feet somehow,
syncope13of13

here, I’m back, but I’ve been gone.
Did anyone see?

Syncope is “Partial or complete loss of consciousness with interruption of awareness of oneself and ones surroundings… Syncope is due to a temporary reduction in blood flow and therefore a shortage of oxygen to the brain.” medicinenet.com
Sudden change of body position and dehydration are two of the most common causes of syncope.

“I’m not here, this is not happening” (How To Disappear Completely – Radiohead)

Standard

Leave a Reply

