ART, LITERATURE, QUOTES, RULES, SPIRITUALITY

The Fortune Cookie Says…

THE FORTUNE COOKIE

Functioning superbly will come automatically to you

Why, thank you, cookie. You are such a charmer.

The nice thing about receiving this message was that the timing was wonderful, as I was at a business meeting.

I am learning all I can about working for myself, to promote myself, and psyche myself up to do the stuff I love more than anything, which is make art. Sometimes I don’t believe that I function superbly. But now a cookie has told me I do. So I will.

THE POSTER ART

Vincent Parker!

I’ve really been enjoying this guy’s poster art for the Biltmore Cabaret over recent months. Turns out there’s a lot more to him than just a really great, loose drawing style. Check him out at: www.vincentparker.ca

THE RULES

Rule #3 – Always, ALWAYS take time out to read. A little news, a little nonfiction, and a lot a fiction. Get out of your head and into another’s.

THE QUOTE

An artist is a person first. He is an individual. If there is no person, there is no artist. It is of no importance to me whether you wear your payos behind your ears or whether you cut off your hair entirely and go around bald. I am not a defender of payos. Great artists will not give a damn about your payos; they will only give a damn about your art. The artists who will care about your payos are not worth caring about. You want to cut off your payos, go ahead. But do not do it because you think it will make you more acceptable as an artist.

– Jacob Kahn, artist and mentor, speaking to his student in Chaim Potok’s amazing novel “My Name Is Asher Lev” (pg 257)

Standard

Leave a Reply

