FILM, MUSIC, QUOTES

Three things – A film, an album, and a quote

THE FILM:

Tears For April: Beyond The Blue Lens (2007)

When I was hired by Vancouver Public Library, I never thought I’d work at Carnegie. I  thought it could be dangerous – it’s at the heart of Main & Hastings, afterall. Truth is: the Carnegie patrons are kinder and more appreciative than the average patron at most other branches in the city.

Carnegie patrons are a mix of Chinatown residents and Downtown Eastside residents. Both groups were consistently thankful to have a safe, quiet place to read.(While working at Carnegie broke my fear of being in danger in the DTES, I was always aware that working at the library was not LIVING in the neighbourhood.)

Tears for April is a story of humanity; our mistakes, struggles, and failures. We are all very similar creatures. Some of us, as is mentioned in the film, unfortunately don’t have the coping mechanisms or the support needed to make it through the difficulties of life.

Moving. Educational. A must-see.

THE ALBUM:

Four Tet There Is Love In You

Today, Mark Richardson wrote an intelligent and glowing review of Four Tet’s new LP on Pitchfork, awarding the album an astounding 8.6/10 !

I adore Four Tet. This review has me bursting with impatience, both for the album and his performance at the Biltmore February 24 2010!

THE QUOTE:

I just want to be real, whatever that is. Even if my songs are shit, and if I have flaws and if I’m confused, if I offend people or if I don’t offend people, I might try to work it out in public

– M.I.A. talking about her forthcoming Summer 2010 album.
The quote is from a January 11 Pitchfork teaser article about that album.

Standard

Leave a Reply

